Administration : Introduction

With all the new features of  there needed to be an easy way to perform administration tasks.  To fill this need,  web administration was developed.   This web administration will allow you to set and modify most of  abilities.   You can add and remove users, themes and modify what forecasts are available, icons used etc.  Following you will find info on the usage of the web administration.

Administration : Users

One feature of  is the ability to have multiple "users."  this isn't to be confused with web site visitors, but actual separate web sites on the same server, that can have individual customized  sites.  This allows ISP's, etc, to install  once on a server and allow their various web clients to create their own custom  site.

The web based administration allows you to perform administration on a per user basis.   So when ever you make "user" modifications you are making that change for the one user.  You can always see who the current user isby the text box labeled "user" near the top of all administration web pages.  This text box will always list the current user that administration is being performed on. 

The web administration also allows for the maintenance of user config files by clicking on the "user" link in the administration options at the top left of any administration page.  A list of all the current user config files will be listed.   From this screen you have the ability to add new users, delete users or switch to a user.

Add New Users

To add a new user, simply click on the "Add New" button on the main user screen(the one with the list of all users).  Next you will see another list of all current user followed by a blank text box.  Type in the new user name in this box and click the "add' button.  If successful, you will be prompted that the user config file was created.  Actually what happens is that a copy of the "default.txt" user config file is made and named with the new user name.  Thus, the new user will initially have all the same capabilities as the default user.  Also remember this process only creates the user config file.  You will still need to add any templates or custom icons as needed.

Delete Users

The process to delete a user is simple (possibly too simple).  From the main user screen, select the user you want to delete and press the "Delete" button.   If successful you will be prompted that the user config file was deleted.   Remember that this process just deletes the user config file and not any user customized templates or icons that may exist.
NOTE:  Administration will not allow you to delete the "default" user config file.

Switch to a User

I you are not sure of a user name, then from the main user administration page, you can select the user you want to switch to and click the "Switch to" button at the end of the list of users.

Administering Themes